Warm garden lights glow among potted plants, creating a serene evening ambiance.

Best Solar Lights for Outside 2026: Path, Motion and Flood

This article contains affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more.

It’s a warm evening and friends are still on the patio when the sun goes down. Along the path a row of little lights blinks on by itself; by the side gate a motion light snaps on as someone carries the trash out, then fades when they’re gone. Nobody ran a cable, nobody flipped a switch, and none of it shows up on the electric bill. That’s the appeal of good solar lights for outside.

Dove, bird, patio furniture, poolside, nature, avian, dove, dove, dove, dove, dove, patio furniture, poolside
Photo: KarenJubinville / Pixabay

The best solar lights for outside depend on the job. For a smart, motion-sensing path, the Ring Solar Pathlight 2-pack with Bridge (80 lumens each, app control). For security by a door or garage, the Sunforce 2000 Lumen dual-head light, whose separate panel lets the light sit in the shade. For value, a 4-pack of Aootek 120-LED motion wall lights cost about $24 at Aootek.

Below are five outdoor solar lights for paths, walls, driveways and security, with their real specs, plus how to choose brightness, weather rating and placement so they actually last the night. We researched and compared them from maker pages and retailer listings; we did not test them.

Prices change often. The prices below are what we saw at the maker or a major retailer in October 2026; check the current price before you buy.

Our top picks

Best smart path light

Ring Solar Pathlight (2nd Gen) 2-Pack + Bridge

  • 80 lumens, 3500K warm white
  • Motion sensing, Ring app via Bridge
  • About $79.99 (Ring, Oct 2026)
Check price on Amazon
Brightest security light

Sunforce 2000 Lumen Solar Motion Light (82193)

  • 2,000 lumens high / 1,000 low
  • 2 heads, 180° motion sensor, 30 ft
  • Separate panel on a 14.7 ft cord
Check price on Amazon
Best value

Aootek Solar Motion Sensor Lights, 120 LED (4-pack)

  • 120 LEDs, 270° light spread
  • Motion to 26 ft, 3 modes, IP65
  • About $23.99 (Aootek, Oct 2026)
Check price on Amazon
Best spotlight for gardens

LITOM 30 LED Solar Landscape Spotlight (2-in-1)

  • Stake or wall mount
  • Motion to 33 ft, 3 modes
  • IP67, 2,200 mAh battery
Check price on Amazon
Best for shady spots on a budget

Sunforce 60 LED Solar Motion Light (82156)

  • 850 lumens, 60 LEDs
  • 180° motion sensor, 30 ft
  • Remote panel on a 15 ft cord
Check price on Amazon

Outdoor solar lights compared

LightTypeBrightnessMotion sensorWeather ratingAbout (Oct 2026)
Ring Solar Pathlight 2-Pack + BridgeSmart path light80 lumens120°, 15 ftIP66 (listing)$79.99
Sunforce 2000 Lumen (82193)Security flood, 2 heads2,000 / 1,000 lumens180°, 30 ftIP44Not stated by maker
Aootek 120 LED (4-pack)Motion wall lightNot stated by maker120°, 26 ftIP65$23.99
LITOM 30 LED 2-in-1Spotlight, stake or wallUp to 800 lumens (seller)120°, 33 ftIP67Check price
Sunforce 60 LED (82156)Security flood, 1 head850 lumens180°, 30 ft“Weatherproof” (no IP stated)Check price

How outdoor solar lights work

Each light has a small solar panel, a rechargeable battery, LEDs and a light sensor. During the day the panel charges the battery; at dusk the sensor switches the LEDs on. The Department of Energy’s Energy Saver guide notes that a solar light works well only as long as its panel gets the maker’s recommended hours of sun, and that winter operating times can vary by 30% to 50% unless the light is sized for winter. Short, gray days mean less charge and shorter nights of light.

That’s why the panel matters more than the number of LEDs. Aootek, for example, uses a 1.2 W panel and recommends 6 to 8 hours of direct sun before first use. Lights with a separate panel on a cord (both Sunforce models here) let you put the panel in full sun on a roof edge or fence while the light hangs in the shade of an eave or a porch.

The best solar lights for outside

1. Ring Solar Pathlight (2nd Gen) 2-Pack + Bridge: best smart path light

Ring’s pathlights give 80 lumens of 3500K warm white light, switch on when their motion sensor sees movement (up to 120° and 15 ft), and run on a rechargeable 18650 lithium-ion battery that you can also top up by micro-USB after a dark stretch. The Ring Bridge, which plugs in indoors, connects them to the Ring app, so you can set brightness and schedules, get motion alerts and link the lights to Ring cameras and doorbells; one Bridge handles up to 50 Ring lights. The Amazon listing rates them IP66 and for -4°F to 120°F. Ring’s price was $79.99 for two lights and the Bridge, $34.99 per extra pathlight, or $49.99 for the Bridge alone.

  • Good: app control and alerts; warm color; USB backup charging; easy to add more lights.
  • Watch out: the Bridge is needed for any app features and must sit indoors within range; 80 lumens lights a path, not a whole yard; costs more per light than basic stake lights.
  • Best for: front paths and steps, especially if you already use Ring.

Check the Ring Solar Pathlight price on Amazon

2. Sunforce 2000 Lumen Solar Motion Light (82193): brightest security light

For a driveway, garage or back door, this two-head light puts out 2,000 lumens on high or 1,000 on low, triggered by a 180° motion sensor that reaches about 30 ft. Two 3.7 V, 1,800 mAh lithium-ion batteries power it, and the solar panel sits on a 14.7 ft (4.5 m) cord, so the light can go under an eave while the panel catches the sun. You can adjust the detection distance and how long it stays on. Sunforce rates it IP44, which means splash-resistant rather than jet-proof, so mount it where it’s partly sheltered.

  • Good: by far the brightest here; separate panel solves the shady-wall problem; two adjustable heads.
  • Watch out: lowest weather rating here (IP44); Sunforce gives no price or warranty; the Amazon listing appears to resell the Costco version, so check the seller before buying.
  • Best for: driveways, garages and dark side yards that need real security light.

Check the Sunforce 2000 Lumen light price on Amazon

3. Aootek Solar Motion Sensor Lights, 120 LED: best value

Four small wall lights for about the price of one fancy one. Each has 120 LEDs behind a reflector that spreads light across 270°, a PIR motion sensor that detects people up to 26 ft away within 120°, a 1.2 W monocrystalline panel (20.5% conversion, per Aootek) and an IP65 rating. There are three modes: motion only (on for about 25 to 30 seconds), dim all night at 10% brightness, or a smart mode that combines the two. Aootek doesn’t state lumens. Aootek listed the 4-pack at $23.99.

  • Good: very low cost per light; wide light spread; useful all-night dim mode; IP65.
  • Watch out: no stated lumens or battery capacity; the panel is built in, so the light must be mounted in sun; cool-white LEDs can feel harsh.
  • Best for: fences, sheds, side gates, stairs and decks with good sun.

Check the Aootek solar lights price on Amazon

4. LITOM 30 LED Solar Landscape Spotlight (2-in-1): best spotlight for gardens

LITOM’s spotlight goes in the ground on a stake to light up a tree, a flag or the house number, or screws to a wall as a motion light. Retailer listings give it 30 LEDs, a 1.5 W monocrystalline panel, a 2,200 mAh lithium-ion battery, a PIR motion sensor reaching 33 ft across 120°, three modes and an IP67 rating, meaning it’s dust-tight and survives brief immersion. The seller calls it up to 800 lumens; we couldn’t confirm that from LITOM’s own pages, so treat it as a seller figure. The ASIN we list is a 4-pack in cold white.

  • Good: two ways to mount; IP67 is the best water rating here; bigger battery than most small lights.
  • Watch out: specs come from retailer listings, not LITOM’s site; cold white light; check whether you’re buying a 2-, 4- or larger pack.
  • Best for: accent lighting in garden beds, trees and walls that get sun.

Check the LITOM spotlight price on Amazon

5. Sunforce 60 LED Solar Motion Light (82156): best for shady spots on a budget

A long-selling, single-head motion light: 60 LEDs, 850 lumens, a 180° sensor reaching about 30 ft, one lithium-ion battery, an ABS housing and a separate panel on a 15 ft cord. That cord is the reason to buy it: mount the light on a shaded porch or north wall and run the panel to the sunny side. We found no current page for it on Sunforce’s site, so specs come from retailer listings, which describe it as weatherproof without giving an IP rating.

  • Good: remote panel; bright for its size; simple.
  • Watch out: older model; amorphous panels are less efficient than mono, so give it full sun; no IP rating stated.
  • Best for: porches, carports and north-facing doors.

Check the Sunforce 60 LED light price on Amazon

How to choose solar lights for outside

  • Pick brightness for the job. For comparison, ENERGY STAR says an 800-lumen bulb matches an old 60 W incandescent. Path and accent lights need only tens of lumens; security lights for a driveway run in the hundreds to 2,000.
  • Read the IP rating. Under the IEC 60529 standard, IP44 resists splashing, IP65 is dust-tight and resists water jets, IP66 resists powerful jets, and IP67 survives brief immersion. For exposed spots, choose IP65 or better.
  • Put the panel in the sun, not the light. A built-in panel needs direct sun most of the day; for shady walls and porches, choose a light with a separate panel on a cord.
  • Motion modes last longer. A light that stays dim and brightens on motion uses far less of its battery than one on full all night, which matters on short winter days.
  • Choose warm, shielded light. DarkSky International recommends lighting only where and when it’s needed, no brighter than necessary, and in warmer colors (its approved fixtures are 3000K or lower). Aim lights down, away from neighbors’ windows and the sky; motion sensors help.
  • Plan for battery swaps. Small solar lights use rechargeable cells that wear out in a few years. Replace them with the same chemistry the light takes (NiMH with NiMH, for example) unless the instructions say otherwise.

Keep the panels clean: wipe off dust, pollen and snow so they charge fully. When a light’s lithium-ion battery is finished, the EPA says it should not go in household trash or recycling bins; take it to a battery recycling or household hazardous waste drop-off (Call2Recycle and Earth911 list locations). Solar lights need no wiring at all, so there’s no electrician and no permit; if you’d rather have hardwired outdoor lights on a house circuit, that’s a job for a licensed electrician.

Keep exploring

Our solar panels for home guide covers powering the house itself with the sun. To light and power a shed, see the best DIY solar panel kits, and for camping trips, the best portable solar panels. Inside the house, efficient bulbs do the same job as solar lights do outside: see the best LED light bulbs. Learn how light becomes electricity in our solar energy and radiant energy explainers, read about green energy, or browse all of solar energy.

Outdoor solar light questions

What are the best solar lights for outside?

For a smart path, the Ring Solar Pathlight with Bridge (80 lumens, motion, app control). For security, the Sunforce 2000 Lumen dual-head light, whose separate panel lets the light sit in the shade. For value, the Aootek 120-LED motion wall lights, about $24 for four at Aootek. For accent lighting in the garden, the LITOM spotlight.

How long do outdoor solar lights stay on at night?

It depends on how much sun the panel got that day and the mode you choose. Motion-only and dim modes stretch the battery through the night; full brightness all night drains it sooner. The Department of Energy notes winter run times can vary by 30% to 50% unless a light is sized for winter.

Do solar lights work in winter or on cloudy days?

Yes, but with less run time. Short days and clouds mean less charge, so lights may switch off earlier. Clear snow off the panels, place them where they get the most winter sun, and choose models with a separate panel or USB backup charging (like Ring’s) for dark months.

How many lumens do I need for outdoor solar lights?

Path lights work at tens of lumens: Ring’s give 80. Motion lights by a door or gate often run several hundred. For a driveway or large yard, look at 1,000 to 2,000 lumens, like the Sunforce 82193. More isn’t always better: DarkSky advises no brighter than necessary, aimed down.

Why did my solar lights stop working?

The usual causes are a dirty or shaded panel, a worn-out rechargeable battery, or the light’s own switch left off. Clean the panel, move it into more sun, and replace the battery with the same type and size. If a nearby porch light or streetlight shines on the dusk sensor, the light may think it’s still day.