This article contains affiliate links: if you buy through them we may earn a commission, at no extra cost to you. Learn more.
You’re comparing two power stations online. Same size, similar price, and one spec line is different: “LiFePO4” on one, “Li-ion NMC” on the other. It looks like alphabet soup, but it decides how many years the battery lasts, how heavy the box is, and how it behaves if something goes wrong. Here’s what that line means, in plain words.

For a portable power station, LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate) is the better battery for almost everyone. Makers rate LiFePO4 stations for 3,000 to 4,000 cycles to 80% capacity, versus about 500 for an older NMC model, and it’s more heat-stable. NMC still wins on weight in small, DC-only packs.
Prices change often. Where we give a price, it’s the maker’s own store price we saw in October 2026 (the EcoFlow RIVER 3 price is Amazon’s); check the current price before you buy.
LiFePO4 vs lithium-ion: what the names mean
Both are lithium-ion batteries. Every lithium-ion cell moves lithium ions between two electrodes; what changes is the material of the positive side (the cathode). That’s what the name describes:
- LiFePO4, LFP or “lithium iron phosphate”: the cathode is iron and phosphate. No nickel, no cobalt. This is what nearly every new portable power station uses in 2026.
- NMC (nickel manganese cobalt), also called “ternary lithium”: the cathode mixes nickel, manganese and cobalt. It’s common in phones, laptops, many EVs and older power stations. When a spec sheet just says “lithium-ion” or “Li-ion,” it usually means NMC or a close cousin like NCA.
So “LiFePO4 vs lithium-ion” is really LFP vs NMC. The chemistry sets the trade-offs; the rest of this guide walks through each one. For how batteries store energy in the first place, see our chemical energy explainer.
Same maker, two chemistries: the Goal Zero test case
The fairest comparison is one brand’s two versions of the same size. Goal Zero sold the Yeti 1500X with an NMC battery and now sells the 2026 Yeti 1500 (6th Gen) with LiFePO4. Both are about 1,500 Wh, and both listed at $1,499.95.
| Spec (maker’s figures) | Yeti 1500X (NMC, older) | Yeti 1500 6th Gen (LiFePO4) |
|---|---|---|
| Capacity | 1,516 Wh | 1,505 Wh |
| Cycle rating | 500 cycles to 80% | 4,000 cycles to 80% |
| Weight | 45.64 lb | 52.75 lb |
| Energy per pound | about 33 Wh/lb | about 29 Wh/lb |
| Temperature range | Operating 32–104°F | Charging 32–104°F; operating -4–104°F |
| Price (Goal Zero) | $1,499.95 regular; sold out in October 2026 | $1,499.95 |
| Cost per rated cycle | about $3.00 | about $0.37 |
Same price, same size: eight times the rated cycles for about 7 lb more. That’s the whole debate in one table.
LiFePO4 power stations to consider
EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus
- 1,024 Wh LiFePO4
- 4,000 cycles to 80%
- 1,800 W AC; 27.6 lb
Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2
- 1,024 Wh
- 80% after 4,000 cycles
- 2,000 W AC; 24.9 lb
Jackery Explorer 1000 v2
- 1,070 Wh LiFePO4
- 4,000 cycles to 70%
- 1,500 W AC; 23.8 lb
Goal Zero Yeti 1500 (6th Gen)
- 1,505 Wh LiFePO4
- 4,000 cycles to 80%
- IPX4; 52.75 lb
EcoFlow RIVER 3
- 245 Wh LiFePO4
- 3,000 cycles to 80%
- 300 W AC; 7.8 lb; about $249
BLUETTI X30 CPAP Power Bank
- 297 Wh ternary lithium (NMC)
- 4 lb
- DC outputs only, no AC
Cycle life: how long each battery lasts
A “cycle” is one full charge and discharge (two half-charges count as one). Batteries don’t die at the end of their rating; they slowly hold less. “4,000 cycles to 80%” means the maker expects the battery to still hold about 80% of its original capacity after 4,000 full cycles.
- What makers say: EcoFlow rates the DELTA 3 Plus for 4,000 cycles to 80% and the RIVER 3 for 3,000. Anker says the C1000 Gen 2 keeps 80% after 4,000 cycles. BLUETTI rates the AC180 for 3,500. Goal Zero rates the new Yeti 1500 for 4,000 and the NMC Yeti 1500X for 500. Jackery rates its stations for 4,000 cycles to 70%, a different finish line, so that number isn’t directly comparable.
- What independent lab tests found: Sandia National Laboratories cycled commercial cells for years (Preger and colleagues, Journal of The Electrochemical Society, 2020). LFP cells lasted 2,500 to 9,000 full cycles to 80% across the conditions tested, versus 200 to 2,500 for NMC cells. Heat, deep discharges and high power all shortened life for every chemistry.
- What reviews of the research say: a 2023 review in Materials puts typical LFP cycle life at 2,000 to 6,000 cycles and NMC at 1,500 to 2,000.
In real life: 4,000 cycles is one full cycle a day for about 11 years. If you only use a station for a few outages and camping trips a year, you may never get near either rating. Then age, storage and the electronics matter as much as the cycle number, and the warranty length (5 years on many LiFePO4 models here) is a better guide.
Safety: heat and thermal runaway
Any lithium battery can fail if it’s damaged, overheated or badly made. The danger is “thermal runaway,” when a cell heats itself faster than it can cool, and that heat spreads to the next cell. Chemistry changes how likely that is and how violent it gets:
- LFP’s structure is more stable. The iron-phosphate-oxygen bonds are much stronger than the nickel, cobalt and manganese bonds in NMC. The 2023 Materials review notes LFP shows no significant weight loss below 230°C (446°F), while NMC’s breakdown temperature falls as nickel goes up, as low as 135°C (275°F) for high-nickel NMC 811.
- When cells fail, LFP fails more gently. In an overcharge study in the Journal of Energy Chemistry (Wang and colleagues, 2020), every NMC cell caught fire or exploded during thermal runaway, while the LFP cell released a lot of smoke but no fire and reached a lower top temperature. The same study found the LFP cell went into runaway sooner under overcharge, so “safer” means milder failures, not “can’t fail.”
Whatever the chemistry, buy from a known maker, don’t use a station that’s swollen, dropped hard or smells hot, and keep it out of a closed car in summer. A power station has no exhaust, so it’s fine indoors; a gas generator is not, and CPSC says to keep one at least 20 feet from the house.
Weight and size
This is NMC’s real advantage. The Materials review gives LFP cells about 130 to 140 Wh per kilogram and NMC cells about 160 to 220 Wh/kg. That’s why the BLUETTI X30, a DC-only CPAP battery with NMC cells, packs 297 Wh into 4 lb.
But in a full power station, the cells are only part of the weight. The case, the inverter and the cooling add a lot. Modern LiFePO4 stations are often lighter per watt-hour than older NMC ones: the Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 carries about 45 Wh per pound, the Anker C1000 Gen 2 about 41 and the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus about 37, against about 33 for the NMC Yeti 1500X. Compare actual pounds, not chemistry.
Cold weather: neither one likes charging below freezing
Battery University’s guidance for lithium-ion is clear: no charging below freezing. Charging a cold cell can plate metallic lithium on the anode, which permanently harms performance and safety. Makers build that limit in, for both chemistries:
| Model (chemistry) | Charging range | Using (discharge) range |
|---|---|---|
| Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 | 32–104°F (UltraFast needs above 68°F) | -4–104°F |
| Jackery Explorer 1000 v2 (LiFePO4) | 32–113°F (0–45°C) | 14–113°F (-10–45°C) |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500 6th Gen (LiFePO4) | 32–104°F | -4–104°F (operating) |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500X (NMC) | not stated separately | 32–104°F (operating) |
| BLUETTI X30 (NMC) | 32–104°F | not stated |
LFP does give up more capacity in deep cold. A 2014 study in The Scientific World Journal notes that commercial LiFePO4 kept only about 60% to 70% of its room-temperature capacity at -4°F (-20°C). In winter, keep the station inside where it’s warm, charge it there, and run only the cable out to the cold. A station stored in a freezing garage may refuse to charge until it warms up.
Cost per cycle: the number that settles it
Divide the price by the rated cycles and you get a rough cost for each full charge the battery is rated to deliver. These use October 2026 prices and ignore the slow fade, so treat them as a comparison, not a forecast:
| Station | Price (maker) | Capacity | Rated cycles | Per cycle | Per kWh stored |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EcoFlow DELTA 3 Plus (LFP) | about $669 | 1,024 Wh | 4,000 to 80% | about $0.17 | about $0.16 |
| EcoFlow RIVER 3 (LFP) | about $249 (Amazon) | 245 Wh | 3,000 to 80% | about $0.08 | about $0.34 |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500 (LFP) | $1,499.95 | 1,505 Wh | 4,000 to 80% | about $0.37 | about $0.25 |
| Goal Zero Yeti 1500X (NMC) | $1,499.95 (regular) | 1,516 Wh | 500 to 80% | about $3.00 | about $1.98 |
For anyone who’ll cycle a station often (off-grid cabins, RV living, daily solar use), LFP is the cheaper battery by a wide margin. For a station that mostly sits on a shelf waiting for storms, the gap matters less, and the Goal Zero pair shows LFP doesn’t have to cost more.
Who should buy which
- Choose LiFePO4 if you want a home backup, will charge from solar, live in an RV or van, or just want the battery to last a decade. That’s nearly everyone, and nearly every current model.
- NMC can make sense if you need the lightest possible battery for a small DC load, like a CPAP on a backpacking or flying trip, and you’ll use it a few nights a year. Talk to your doctor or equipment supplier before relying on any battery for a CPAP.
- Skip a discounted older NMC station unless the price is very low and you’ll use it rarely; check the warranty first.
Ready to pick one? See the best portable power stations, the best solar generators, what size you need and the best power stations for CPAP, or start at our portable power stations hub. For the science of storing electricity, read electrical energy, and browse every guide in portable power stations.
LiFePO4 vs lithium-ion questions
Is LiFePO4 a lithium-ion battery?
Yes. LiFePO4 (lithium iron phosphate, or LFP) is one type of lithium-ion battery, named for its iron-phosphate cathode. When power station makers say “lithium-ion” as a contrast, they usually mean NMC (nickel manganese cobalt), sometimes called ternary lithium. Both move lithium ions; they differ in lifespan, heat stability and weight.
How many years does a LiFePO4 power station last?
Makers often say about 10 years. EcoFlow, Anker and Goal Zero rate their larger LiFePO4 models for 4,000 cycles to 80% capacity, which is a full cycle every day for about 11 years. Heat, constant full charge and deep drains shorten that. Warranties of 5 years are common on LiFePO4 models.
Is LiFePO4 safer than lithium-ion?
It’s more heat-stable. Peer-reviewed tests show LFP cells reach lower temperatures in thermal runaway, and in one overcharge study the LFP cell smoked without fire while every NMC cell caught fire or exploded. Any lithium battery can still fail if damaged or misused, so buy from a known maker and follow the manual.
Can I charge a LiFePO4 power station below freezing?
Not normally. The models we checked list 32°F (0°C) as the lowest charging temperature, and most will use power down to about -4°F to 14°F. Charging lithium cells below freezing can plate lithium and damage them. Bring the station inside to charge, or keep it in a warm spot.
Why is LiFePO4 heavier?
LFP cells store less energy per pound than NMC cells: about 130 to 140 Wh per kilogram versus 160 to 220, according to a 2023 research review. In complete power stations the gap is smaller, because the inverter and case weigh a lot; several current LiFePO4 models are lighter per watt-hour than older NMC ones.
Do all new power stations use LiFePO4?
Nearly all of them. Every current EcoFlow, Jackery, BLUETTI, DJI and Goal Zero station in our 2026 product list uses LiFePO4 (Anker’s listings say LiFePO4 too). NMC now shows up mainly in older models and small, light DC battery packs such as CPAP power banks. Check the spec sheet: it should name the chemistry and the cycle rating.
